Kindergarden Canvas

“Educating the mind without educating the heart is no education at all.” ― Aristotle

Morning Pages

on January 23, 2013

I am transitioning the class from doing a calendar routine to doing Morning Pages on the Smartboard. By this time of year students should have a good grasp of how to do calendar. I get the special helper to change the days of the week and the pattern during music listening.

I am doing a lot of activities where students come up to the Smartboard.

20130123-220006.jpg

20130123-220019.jpg

I set the routine that students go up to the Smartboard one by one in order of their seating on the carpet. I’ve trained the kids to pass the pen automatically to the person besides them. Meanwhile I take on the role of conductor. I keep the class occupied by giving them tasks. E.g. See how many n’s you can find in the morning message. Will your count be the same as everyone else’s? Let’s sing the preposition song. Can you do the same action pattern I am doing with my body?

There is a lot of content that I cover during Morning Pages. You are welcome to sit in the room in the morning and observe us. In early February we will be having student led conferences. You will be able to view the Morning Pages at that time.

Leave a Reply

